Article

The 2015 WCS Premier League Season 2 finals survival guide

Hans Oelschlägel's picture
Hans Oelschlägel
Editor / Content Manager
Share this article:

It’s that time of the year again! The Season 2 finals of the WCS Premier League are upon us and we have a star-studded field of players to look forward to. Polt will be looking to secure back-to-back titles in Toronto, but we know of 15 players that have other plans. Check out at all the information regarding the 2015 WCS Premier League Season 2 finals below!

Key information

A handy summary of all the essential information about the event.

  • Where? Metro Toronto Convention Center, Canada
  • When? 26th to the 28th of June 2015
  • Schedule: See below
  • Homepage: http://www.starcraft2.com/WCS
  • Stream: twitch.tv/wcs
  • Stage B Stream: twitch.tv/wcs_america
  • 16 of the world’s best StarCraft II players will take the stage in Toronto on their quest to lift the 2015 WCS Season 2 trophy and win their cut of the US$145,000 prize pool and the coveted WCS points that come with it.

Participating players

In true WCS fashion, the best StarCraft II players from all over the world will be gathering for the season finals. Check out the competitors below:

Race: Terran | Group: A | Nationality: South Korean

Race: Zerg | Group: A | Nationality: Danish

Race: Zerg | Group: A | Nationality: South Korean

Race: Protoss | Group: A | Nationality: German

Race: Protoss | Group: B | Nationality: Dutch

Race: Terran | Group: B | Nationality: French

Race: Terran | Group: B | Nationality: South Korean

Race: Zerg | Group: B | Nationality: French

Race: Zerg | Group: C | Nationality: German

Race: Protoss | Group: C | Nationality: French

Race: Terran | Group: C | Nationality: Australian

  • IAsonu

Race: Zerg | Group: C | Nationality: Chinese

Race: Zerg | Group: D | Nationality: Dutch

Race: Zerg | Group: D | Nationality: South Korean

Race: Zerg | Group: D | Nationality: New Zeelander

Race: Protoss | Group: D | Nationality: South Korean

The complete brackets are as follows:

Click to enlarge

Talent lineup

Accompanying this massive StarCraft II event’s incredible players will be an equally talented broadcasting team.

The full talent lineup for the event is as follows:

Click to enlarge

Full schedule

A detailed overview of the 2015 WCS Season 2 finals schedule. Keep in mind that the games on stage A will always air on the official WCS stream, while stage B matches will be shown on the WCS America stream.

Friday, June 26th - Group stages & elimination matches

Stage A

  • 12:00 EDT (18:00 CEST): Group A Match 1
  • 13:00 EDT (19:00 CEST): Group A Elimination
  • 14:00 EDT (20:00 CEST): Group B Match 2
  • 15:00 EDT (21:00 CEST): Group B Elimination
  • 16:00 EDT (22:00 CEST): Group C Match 2
  • 17:00 EDT (23:00 CEST): Group C Elimination
  • 18:00 EDT (0:00 CEST): Group D Match 2
  • 19:00 EDT (1:00 CEST): Group D Elimination

Stage B

  • 12:00 EDT (1:00 CEST): Group A Match 2
  • 13:00 EDT (1:00 CEST): Group B Match 1
  • 14:00 EDT (1:00 CEST): Group C Match 1
  • 15:00 EDT (1:00 CEST): Group D Match 1

Saturday, June 27th - Group stage winner & decider matches

  • 12:00 EDT (18:00 CEST): Group A Winners
  • 13:00 EDT (19:00 CEST): Group A Decider
  • 14:00 EDT (20:00 CEST): Group B Winners
  • 15:00 EDT (21:00 CEST): Group B Decider
  • 16:00 EDT (22:00 CEST): Group C Winners
  • 17:00 EDT (23:00 CEST): Group C Decider
  • 18:00 EDT (0:00 CEST): Group D Winners
  • 19:00 EDT (1:00 CEST): Group D Decider
  • 20:00 EDT (2:00 CEST): Group Draw

Sunday, June 28th - Quarterfinals, semifinals and grand final

  • 10:00 to 13:00 EDT (16:00 to 19:00 CEST): Quarterfinal matches
  • 13:00 to 16:00 EDT (19:00 to 22:00 CEST): Semifinal matches
  • 18:00 EDT (0:00 CEST): Finals

Prize money and WCS point distribution

Similarly to season one, the 2015 WCS Season 2 finals will feature a huge US$145,000 prize pool. But it’s not just about the money: there will also be coveted WCS points on the line, which are required in order to qualify for the global finals at the end of the year.

For the complete prize distribution, refer to the tables below:

Prize pool distribution

1st place US$30,000
2nd place US$15,000
3rd place US$10,000
4th place US$8,000
5th place US$6,000

WCS point distribution

1st place 2,000 points
2nd place 1,250 points
3rd-4th place 900 points
5th-8th place 600 points
9th-12th place 400 points
13th - 16th  place 300 points

Social media

Stay up to date with the WCS Season 2 finals on Facebook and Twitter!

You can also find individual player and personality Twitter accounts linked in the sections above!

Tune in from 18:00 CET this Friday!

Who would you put your money on? Drop us a comment below!