Article

ESL Mortal Kombat X Pro League Season 2 finals get fatal on January 24th

Share this article:

After many weeks of intense competition, players from around the globe will converge upon Burbank, California to compete for a US$100,000 prize pool as the ESL MKX Pro League prepares for the spectacle of the Season 2 finals. The top 16 players based on ESL MKX Pro League points will be flown to the double-elimination tournament to compete in front of a live audience on January 24th. Once the first eight players have been eliminated, the remaining Fatal 8 will head into the finals to compete for the US$100,000 prize pool. The top four competitors will take home cash prizes, including a US$60,000 windfall for the newly crowned Season 2 champion.

Viewers and attendees will be treated to the Mortal Kombat festival live from the ESL America studios during the tournament, which will include a special live Kombat Kast featuring new Kombat Pack 2 character gameplay hosted by NetherRealm’s Tyler Lansdown and Derek Kirtzic, exhibition matches with some of your favorite MKX Pro League personalities as well as interviews with ESL and NetherRealm team members.

The event schedule is as follows: 

  • 08:45 PST: Doors open
  • 09:00 PST (18:00 CET, 20:00 MSK): Tournament begins - live on Twitch.tv/NetherRealm
  • 14:00 PST (23:00 CET, 01:00 MSK): Mortal Kombat festival begins
  • 15:45 PST (01:00 CET, 03:00 MSK): Kombat Kast begins
  • 17:00 PST (02:00 CET, 04:00 MSK): Fatal 8 begins
  • 20:00 PST (05:00 CET, 07:00 MSK): Tournament concludes

Tickets for the live event are available now, but if you are unable to join us in person you can watch the festivities live at Twitch.tv/NetherRealm or check out one of the official viewing parties in North America at the Player 1 Video Game Bar in Orlando, Florida or the Ignite Gaming Lounge in Chicago, Illinois. Hope to see you there or online watching the stream!